Create Random Board from Shaped Tiles

Hello Unreal community! I’m a VFX artist by trade, so I am familiar with Unreal, however I am working on my blueprint knowledge. As such, I want to learn from doing, and what I am currently trying to take baby steps in doing is create a digital version of a board game I have wanted to make for a while.

The first thing I am trying to do is build a board of tiles that are different shapes (Triangles, Squares, Pentagons, Hexagons, and Octagons). All of these shapes have the same side lengths, so they can all connect. What I was thinking about doing in theory is having board sizes to pick from, then it will create a board by attaching the tile meshes to each other based on the location of the attach points on each mesh (they would also need to rotate accordingly so the edges are flush with each other). Ideally I would be able to set the amount of each tile in each board.

Right now I have a board blueprint, and a blueprint for each shape that contains the mesh and the parented attach points (arrow components). Annnnnnnd now I don’t know where to go from here. ANY advice or guidance from here would be extremely appreciated!

Hi man,
its something like this ,
Be carefull with the unreal units, and scale of the mesh, try work clean having all scaled 1 .

its not possible without cheating.

unless the shapes dont have to have matching angels at every corner. then u could probably make it very easily. but im guessing u want everything to be symmetrical or whatever the word for that is. like. a square has 4 90degree angels. etc. etc.

Thank you so much for this, makes sense! I’ll try to get this in as soon as I can. I’m guessing I need to store those values for the the shapes in a data table and then reference them as variables?

It’s possible, I’ve built a paper prototype of this board mechanic. You just end up with spaces where tiles won’t fit obviously, but that’s actually desired in this case. Creates unique paths and corridors