Correct me please. Creating random number

To people with experience, this blueprint might look completly wrong but I am new to unreal engine and to me this would make sense. Please feel free to correct my mistakes. I am trying to create a random number.

What this will do is on press assign a new value to the int and on release print it.

What do you want to know?

If you want to print on released key, that’s ok. You also could just trigger the print from the set Node, so it will print immediately when key is pressed

i am doing a board game so i want the player to move forward the amount that the random number is. the random number thing that i made above is in the blueprint of the counter that will move

Hey @JFMGamingYT!

So are you just seeking advice on implementation? Or maybe ideas on how to clean this up? So far what you have does work as intended. and there does not seem to be anything wrong with it.

Any additional information you can provide will be a big help in solving your problem.

when i start game and press the button binded to random number event it doesnt desplay anything to my screen. and if it possible to make it cleaner and mabye work better then that information will help.

Where is that “InputAction Random Number” event? In the PlayerController? In the level blueprint? In an actor? If it is in an actor, make sure that the “Enable Input” parameter for that actor is True.

it is an actor. so where abouts would i put the enable input parameter?

You can enable input as follows with a blueprint node:

grafik

The documentation is really useful here.

And make sure, that the input is not consumed by any other actor before your actor is reached. There’s some infos on this here in the docs.

1 Like