Considering Unity3D

im relatively new to development, but ive managed to figure out how to do pretty much anything i want with UE4 blueprints, but there are some things that has me considering unity… i dont mind C# at all, its as simple if not more in some ways as blueprints, so no issues there, but i do like how C# scripts in unity are made to be more modular, with simpler, smaller scripts, the prices for pro seem to be a better deal than UE4s 5%, though, not as good as unitys old $1,500 flat fee they got rid of… and in terms of graphics, ive played good games in both and both are quite capable, and with unitys new features in the 2018 beta theyre really going to close that gap

as for unreal, i think it does have better tools for creating terrain and maps, i like that theyre investing in blender to get better compatibility with free modeling software, and i do know how to set up custom events and functions to keep blueprints from turning into a spaghetti monster, and support for free content, community support, and tutorials has improved immensely over the last few years

so what would you say to sell me on staying with UE4? why do you stay with unreal?.. and my last question is which is faster when compared to C++, UE4s blueprints, or unity3Ds C# scripts?.. ive heard both sides say theirs is faster but ive never noticed much, nor seen much data to show one way or another

anyway… maybe im just seeing the grass as greener when it really isnt?

Which one is faster? Faster in doing what? In some things UE is faster and in others Unity is faster, and that also depends on the platform and how you implemented them. No simple answer for this question.

selected_engine = get_engine(project, time, budget, familiarity, target_platforms, …)

Only you can implement this function and answer the question.