Completely lost - Looking for a GOOD getting started.

Okay, I am a C++ programmer with quite a lot of experience. I have published 14 games, and have written my own DirectX11 engine from scratch. But, I am having trouble getting started with this engine. I’ve watched (multiple times) the getting started with programming tutorial, I’ve read through the programmer quick start guide, etc. I can’t get a grasp. What is a module, game mode etc.? All these terms are thrown at me, with not explanation. The programmer quick start guide tells you a tiny bit of information, and then it ends. What gives? It took me forever to find the reference, and it’s huge! With little to no guidance. This is the second day trying to get started with this engine, and I feel like I’m nowhere. Where can I get a good getting started guide that will help me understand the ins-and-out of the engine, the structure of the engine, the common classes in the engine, etc?

Thanks.

Try to find something useful : Unreal News Weekly - Community & Industry Discussion - Epic Developer Community Forums

I think this is what you’re looking for : Programming with C++ | Unreal Engine Documentation

Aside from that, most tutorials are for Blueprints, but the API for Blueprints and C++ is basically the same so even if you are not interested in visual scripting at all, the blueprint video tutorials can help you.

Honestly what you need to do is download the shooter code and other sample games from the marketplace and study them. I’ve been doing C++ for a very long time and I know what you are feeling. Epic/UE4 does C++ in a weird way.

For basic explanations of GameMode, etc. look : https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Gameplay/Framework/index.html