Complete Newbie question-"static" scene creation (UE5)

Hi guys,

Pretty much a newbie here, both to this forum and to UE / 3D modelling as a whole. I have been having a play with UE5 and following a few tutorials with it and I have found it fascinating! I have decided to try and have a go at creating a “static” scene for my first real self-test after what I’ve been doing so far…I’m not expecting anything miraculous, but I would like to try and give something like this a go?

There is a YT video here ( Mafia: Definitive Edition | Main Menu Themes Soundtrack (2020) - YouTube ) of the scene in question…It would obviously not be as good as the scene in the game/video, but I’d like to try something similar. A view out of a window or doorway while it’s raining. Soft lighting and maybe a candle or antique lamp etc.

What I’d like to know though is how anybody here who does or has done similar things arranges your “workflow” and do you do everything in UE or do you create certain “custom” assets in 3DS or Maya? What I thought I would do would be to utilize some of the brilliant free assets from the UE Marketplace but also have a go at creating a few very simple things myself in Maya and importing them into the scene?

Would you recommend starting with just a blank wall with a window in it and gradually just add assets from there? Really any advice that anybody could give would be great and very much appreciated.

Thank you in advance to anybody who replies!

Tom

Take a look through Quixel Bridge for some of the items in your scene and check the market place (and free items as well ) for other scenic pieces and things like rain and sound fx. There You might block out with simple walls and Quizel to start with and get a feel. An unique items you coudl build in Maya.

1 Like