CLion + Unreal

Hello,

I’m a newbie in c++, so i get lost with some terminology.

Well, I’m trying to use the CLion IDE to develop with unreal, because I developed with phpstorm and Intelij, and I’m very happy with that IDE.
I read that, since 4.2, unreal includes CMakeLists.txt files, so i searched for them and found some cmake files in the engine source code, but now I don’t know what to do with that files, neither could find that files in my unreal projects.

Maybe this is basic, but I’m kinda lost with that

Thx for the help :slight_smile:

On Windows, only Visual Studio is supported. Besides, CLion is not anywhere close to a production-ready IDE.

UE4 doesn’t use CMake, it uses a custom build tool called UnrealBuildTool. So unless CLion supports custom build setups, it won’t support UE4. There’s also community support for QCreator. That might help you get it working with CLion.

I’m working in Linux and i want know how use with CLion too.

1 Like

Any updates on this? Coming from IntelliJ and having to use VS2013 is doing my head in. Not to mention that VS runs like an absolute pig. I trust the people that created Resharper with my money!

As someone else who comes from JetBrains IDEs, I agree whole-heartedly that VS is a horrible experience; it feels like it works against me every step on the way instead of helping me.

So if anybody gets CLion to work pretty well, I’d be very interested to know :slight_smile:

I would be interested in this, too. Also developing on Linux.

I think so, i think so. I’m using PyCharm and i decided use CLions for C++, i don’t want use QtCreator, i think that it is like VS, horrible.

Version 4.9 can generate CMake files. See the release notes:

Have you tried using that method?

I testet Clion on GNU/Linux using the cmake files (just do what djw was suggesting, pass -cmakefile to UBT) and it works. Maybe not fully integrated because it has no Code Accessor nor the IDE menu in the ue4 editor works but you can use it.