Character Movement Issues - Orient rotation to movement has no affect!

Hello okay to start I am new to all of this. But I have worked with ue4 before, newer specifically to c++.
So, first I made a custom character. Made customer animation blueprint. I will post what I have in there as screenshots.
Next I followed this tutorial to a Tee.

I am sure many of you are farmiliar.
So I will also include my c++ code as well. Just know it is exactly as his is.
Here is exactly how my character moves.
w - forward as expected
s - backward as expected.
d/a - He uses his walking forward animation but moves left/right. In the video and what I would want is that no matter which direction he moves, he faces the direction he is moving. From my understanding this function should take care of that: GetCharacterMovement()->bOrientRotationToMovement = true;
I don’t have desired rotation.
Because this is not working I tried setting it to false and even commenting it out, NO CHANGE TO MY GAME. I don’t understand why this is not effecting my character movement. But wait!! There’s more…

I have commented out SEVERAL lines of code in the .cpp file, (using //) and literally with all of them commented out other than move forward and move right, as well as some camera attachment settings and jump, no change is made to his movement. This tells me that perhaps although it is possible that these lines should be what I need for the controls to act how I want, they are playing no role what so ever in my characters movement.
I will post my initial c++ doc and then I will also provide my commented out one where the character has no difference in movement. I will put !!! beside the comments so you know which lines have NO IMPACT.

Can someone please help me understand what to do here. I want my character to move exactly like his in this video. Honestly, I am trying to mimic the character movement of the mechanics in Spongebob battle for bikini bottom. I love that game!
Thank you in advance!