Character Creation - Expert Advice Needed!

Hi,

I’m new to video game development. My specific area of interest is high quality 3D character creation, specifically realistic human females. I’ve seen beautiful female 3D models that were made using Daz3D but I don’t want to use Daz3D or Poser to create my 3D models. I’m more serious than that! So what paid product should I use to more easily create characters for eventual use in Unreal Engine 3? What paid product should I use if the models will eventually be used in cutscenes for a game that doesn’t exist? Is there a simple character creator like what we use when we customize a character in The Sims 3 or Guild Wars through Eye of the North for example?

Fuse Character Maker :slight_smile:

I’ve heard many negative things about this software, so I’d proceed with caution.

You won’t find anything that has character modelling in the style of The Sims 3 or Guild Wars. All game models are typically hand crafted in Maya, 3D Max or similar. If you’re happy to put in the time and effort to learn these, then Blender is a good place to start as it is free, but full featured and an excellent introduction to modelling.

Learning to model yourself is a good option, but it is not quick or easy, nor will your initial attempts be of a high quality. Unfortunately, your options are either to teach yourself, or to use character generation software. Alternatively, if you happen to have a pile of spare cash around, you can hire an artist. As an artist who also likes money, I wholeheartedly support the latter option!

Blender is a good starting place, like Gunner mentioned, and also has a wonderful community built around it which has supplied a wealth of tutorials. Even if you go down the daz/poser route, that knowledge will be indispensable, because something will go wrong, or you’ll need to make an asset or prop yourself.