Change materials of a static mesh with Widget Interaction HTC VIVE

Hey,

I’m totally new to UE4 and working on a project for the university. I’m trying to change materials of a static mesh with a Widget Interaction in VR (HTC Vive). I started with an VR Template and added a new ActionMapping for the Grip Buttons of both Motion Controllers. Then I added a Widget Interaction to the HandMesh of the BP_MotionController (not the Pawn) to get the Debug out of ‘my hand’ and called to the Input Interaction of the new to Action Mappings and put them into Press/ReleasePointerKey…target is the Widget Interaction.

I created a new Widget and a WidgetActor_BP with the Widget as a child of the DefaultSceneRoot with these settings:

Moreover I made a BP of the StaticMesh:

Now when I start the VR Preview I have the debug out of my hand as I wanted and the Hover Functions work: Menu opens and the other buttons change their appearance when hovered.
But it seems as I can’t get any Input from the pressed buttons…so the mesh stays the same.

Anyone an idea what I missed? Or another solution for my problem. It should be something like a Show Room with Car Configurator.

Thanks in advance

-R

you need to use the MotionController facebuttons for your press pointer keys

Ok I will try that. Why do you have ‘Left Mouse Buttons’ in the Press Pointer Keys? I did the whole project in a VR Template. And I think there are no Mouse Buttons specified?! I use the Face Buttons for Teleport so can I only use one of them for menu interaction? Everything else is correct?

Thank you very much.

Yes to interact with Widgets UI, you need to emulate mouse pointer and send action, use debug-line there for the preview.
Adjust any MotionController button to trigger few events, such as fire and PressPointerKey LeftMouse key.