Change material color and update clients?

I’m attempting to change the colors of a material but the clients do not properly update. What am I missing? Can clients change the color of materials (client-side only of course) or only servers, and the servers tell the clients that the material was updated?

I am using a custom event that replicates to servers and clients (from GameState Event Graph) but it only calls on the server, is that possibly because I call “DoSpawnCharacters” func from Gamemode → GameState, then call the event “ChangeCharCols” from “DoSpawnCharacters” and have the custom event receive node in GameState’s Event Graph?

Not entirely sure. If someone could help, that’d be fantastic! I’m pretty new to UE4 but I’m willing to learn. :slight_smile:

Executing spawning on the server is exactly correct, but you’ll have to use RepNotify for cosmetic changes as they aren’t replicated themselves.

Unfortunately, I don’t have access to our project right now. Basically, what you have to do is instead of setting the material/color directly on the server, change a variable that’s flagged as RepNotify (e.g. bSetColor or IsActivated or whatever). Then in reaction to the auto-created (client side) OnRep_ event , execute the color change.

In general, I found this video series extremely helpful:

Oh thank you so much! If I may ask, how come Custom Events being multicasted wouldn’t result in the same thing?

Huh, you’re right: That would also work!

I didn’t think to try this because when someone else asked the same question as you did, the recommended answer was to use RepNotify, and it worked for us when we had the problem.

It probably depends on whether there’s any variable that needs to be set anyway. (In our case we already had a fitting variable, so there was no extra work involved.)

Sorry if I ended up confusing you!