Change and Sync Color on Multiplayer

Hello! I’ve been trying to follow numerous tutorials on Youtube on how to set up a realtime material changer in Unreal, and I’ve gotten really close! However, since I’m fairly new to Unreal and to Multiplayer, I can’t seem to figure this out no matter what methods I choose (multi-cast, repnotify, ect.) So far I am only able to change the color of the dresser on the server and replicate it on the clients screen, but if I change the color on the clients screen, it doesn’t replicate it back to the server? I have class defaults set to replicate, and tried setting authority as well…

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Dresser Blueprint

Widget Blueprint that has a button that the character can click to assign the new material

Hi, AFAIK only way for the client to tell the server something is via RunOnServer events (which means client asking the server to execute that logic on the server). And only the client that owns that actor can call a RunOnServer event on that actor. If any other client tries to do so, nothing will happen.

Also you can only change the owner on the server. That means, that it would make no sense to have RunOnServer events on actors where you expect different clients to use them, since you would then need to change owner what you can only do on the server.

That means you need to shift the RunOnServer event to something that you know the client will own during the whole game (e. g. the player controller or the controlled pawn). So for example OnClicked in the widget → calls event inside the player controller → RunOnServer → calls event on your actor to change color → replicate change to all clients (I would use repnotify here instead of multicast, since if the client missed the multicast (e. g. dropped if its not reliable due to bandwidth, network relevancy, in progress join) it will never get the change which then means that you shouldn’t use multicast for persistant changes but only for one shot events).