Certain code causes crashes

I’m new to programming in UE4, I’m not sure how it all works. All I’ve gathered so far is that doing things causes crashes.
I’ve set up the following public property and functions in my actor class as follows:

Territory.h:

UPROPERTY(VisibleAnywhere, BlueprintReadWrite, meta = (AllowPrivateAccess = "true"))
class UStaticMeshComponent* terrMesh;

UFUNCTION(BlueprintCallable, Category="functions")
void GenerateArmy(int32 troops);

UFUNCTION(BlueprintCallable, Category = "functions")
void  ChangeMesh();

UFUNCTION(BlueprintCallable, Category = "thing")
int32 testFunction();

Territory.cpp:

ATerritory::ATerritory()
{
	PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true;

static ConstructorHelpers::FObjectFinder<UStaticMesh> meshObj(TEXT("/Game/Geometry/Meshes/TemplateFloor.TemplateFloor"));
	terrMesh = CreateDefaultSubobject<UStaticMeshComponent>(TEXT("placeolder"));
	terrMesh->SetStaticMesh(meshObj.Object);
}

void ATerritory::BeginPlay()
{
	Super::BeginPlay();

//Copy-pasted generateArmy
	FVector loc = this->GetActorLocation();
	GetWorld()->SpawnActor<AActiveArmy>(GetClass(), (loc + FVector(0.0, 0.0, 100.0)), FRotator::ZeroRotator);
}

void ATerritory::Tick( float DeltaTime )
{  //snip  }

void ATerritory::GenerateArmy(int32 troops)
{
	/*armyDood =*/ GetWorld()->SpawnActor<AActiveArmy>(GetClass(), (loc + FVector(0.0, 0.0, 100.0)), FRotator::ZeroRotator);
	armyDood->troopCount = 42;
}

void ATerritory::ChangeMesh()
{
	static ConstructorHelpers::FObjectFinder<UStaticMesh> fountainObj(TEXT(
		"/Game/InfinityBladeGrassLands/Environments/Plains/Env_Plains_Ruins/StaticMesh/SM_Plains_Castle_Fountain_01.SM_Plains_Castle_Fountain_01"));
	//terrMesh = CreateDefaultSubobject<UStaticMeshComponent>(TEXT("newMesh"));
	terrMesh->SetStaticMesh(fountainObj.Object);
}

int32 ATerritory::testFunction()
{
	return 0;
}