Cast to a certain component within a blueprint

Hello!

I created a blueprint “FallDown” which contains 2 cube components. One is red. The other blue.
The blueprint is falling down and then overlapping a collision box.
This starts a particle fire.

It works with casting to “FallDown”.

But I want the fire go off only when the red cube is colliding.

How do I cast to the red box within the blueprint.

I did my research but I am not getting closer to a solution.

Any hints?

Thank you so much in advance.

(Ps. I am new to unreal and this is an excercise to understand casting better)

If both cubes are in the same blueprint you don’t need to cast at all.

Can you show the setup? ( the cubes and the overlap box ).

Hello,

maybe the example is not the best excerice :smiley:

I am just trying to figure out if its even possible to cast to the red box (or any other component) within a blueprint to ask if THIS certain componen from within a blueprint hit the collision.

Right now the collision spawns a fire on one cone and an explosion on the other.

Ok, but hold on, what’s a fall down? Can you show that? Thanks :slight_smile:

1 Like

The “FallDown” is a BluePrint I made. It looks like this:

In this case it is falling down. But it could also be a spinning thingy and hit the character or so :smiley:

And the red box should cause something different than the green box. But from within the same blueprint.

Ah… ok.

This has nothing to do with casting ( well, very little ).

Do you want to know what casting is for, or how to do this?

:slight_smile:

I watched a lot of youtube tutorials and from what I understood it is that in my case the collision volume asks if it gets hit by the “FallDown” Blueprint. If yes then it ignites the fire and so on.

And I wondered if its possible to ask if only the red cube inside the “FallDown” Blueprint hit the collision box and if yes then…

:smiley:

You’re right about the casting there.

Basically casting says ‘is this thing, one of these’?