Cast "saved" Metahuman to Default Pawn Class

Hello, to start off im very new to unreal and im not sure if im posting this in the correct area.

So I am creating a character selector using metahumans. I have my code to “save” the selected character and “load” the saved character in a new level and im trying to cast the loaded character (metahuman) to my default pawn.

All of my metahumans have been made children of the thirdperson character with all the proper blueprints copied, so all of these metahumans are fully playable as the default pawn.

As of right now to load the character i have a Begin Play event going to my Load Character Data function which goes to a Spawn Actor. This part works and my saved/loaded character spawns in the new level. The issues im arriving at is setting this loaded character as the default pawn. How would I go about doing this?

Select a default pawn class in your game mode:

My Products

Yes I already have a default pawn class for my game mode

Have you set your gameplay to your project or the desired level?

yes, both of those have my game mode

I’m not sure what you mean by “setting this character as the default pawn” after you already spawned it in. If you mean you can’t move, you could try possessing the actor with your player controller.

Yes I apologize this is what i mean. So I have my “SpawnActor” node, from there ive tried a “Cast to Character” node going to a “possess” node. Target is the player controller and the “in pawn” is the “as character” from my cast node. does this seem right?

Well, yes, that should work. You could probably also just pull straight out of the spawn node and plug that into the in pawn as well. You don’t need to cast there unless I’m misreading something.