Can someone please guide me how I could make a zero G room or the character floating as in zero G?

Hello,

I am new to UE4 and I’m trying to create an area where characters can float similar to zero gravity or learn how to make the character float as in zero G.
So far I’ve tried using Gravity Scale on both the Character and the World but I guess that’s not the correct way. At best, my character starts to float when jumping but it never stops going up for some reason.

I would appreciate if someone can point me to the right direction, perhaps there are some guidelines or even some video tutorials for this ?

Thanks

Gravity value is in the project settings under Physics

Check out the flying template.

It’s not a gravity problem but a control input problem. If say 0 is floating how do you control positive and negative input to float up and down?

Isn’t that how zero gravity is supposed to work? There’s nothing to slow you down, so a body in motion will stay in motion. That’s why astronauts use tethers when doing spacewalks… because once they start to drift away, nothing would stop them from continuing to drift away.

Guys he probably means the animation.

Assuming that and that its 3rd person character you are working with.

Yea he won’t stop.
the character stops by default when the built in modules flag him as walking. Which he can’t be. You would have to change the logic and create a floating state, as well as some wierd movement for moving around.

Check out NASA’s IIS videos for some examples of how astronauts move in space to replicate the states.

also, astronauts train in a swimming pool to simulate space, so you could check movement in those training videos as well if you can find any.

Also, take the 2 required minutes to implement Qaternions or your actor will be gymbal locked and not very natural for space…

Thanks for the answers guys. I forgot to specify that I was working on a First Person template.