C++ sub-classes not inheriting includes from parent

Hi,

I have been working in the same Visual Studio project for a couple months, and just recently every time I change a file it returns compile errors like those below:

Error C2027 use of undefined type ‘UWorld’

Error C2027 use of undefined type ‘APlayerController’

Error C2061 syntax error: identifier ‘UMaterial’

It can be fixed by manually by re-including everything, but I have never had to do this before and every class that I modify now starts throwing these errors. I think it may be related to the dependencies in Visual Studio, because I started programming in OpenGL and messed with the environment.

Below is an example of a class that compiles in an empty project but not my own. (I know that this can be directly fixed by adding the ‘SkeletalMeshComponent.h’ include in the source file and forward declaring ‘class SkeletalMeshComponent’ in the header)

#pragma once
#include "CoreMinimal.h"
#include "GameFramework/Actor.h"
#include "CustomActor.generated.h"

UCLASS()
class TEST_API ACustomActor : public AActor
{
	GENERATED_BODY()

public:	
	ACustomActor();

UPROPERTY(VisibleAnywhere, BlueprintReadOnly, Category = "Components")
		USkeletalMeshComponent* MeshComp;
};

//CPP
#include "CustomActor.h"

ACustomActor::ACustomActor()
{
	MeshComp = CreateDefaultSubobject<USkeletalMeshComponent>(TEXT("MeshComp"));
}

Please let me know if you have any insight - thanks,

Kevin

Do these errors occur when you compile in both Visual Studio and in the editor?

Compiling in the editor gives the same errors, so I don’t think it’s Intellisense.

Update: Luckily not every newly edited source file throws missing includes, but I have noticed now that updates to the scene in the Debugger (DebugGameEditor) do not show up in the UProject which may be related.

Have you tried regenerate the VS project file? (Project Folder-> Right Click at .uproject → Generate VS Project File)