Bump Offest with world aligned Texture

Is there a way to add bump offset with world aligned texture?

Yes, but you’ll have to do it for each axis in the world aligned texture function.

You can do it with the bumpoffset node or by multiplying your height by camera vector and adding that to the UVs.
Both yield the same result.

1 Like

Sorry I’m new to unreal, how did I connect this to my World Aligned Texture now ?

You don’t, this would replace the world aligned texture node.

I’d suggest you to take a look inside the world aligned texture function. You can easily just blend between the 3 projections (apply the bumpoffset to each) without the function.

If you want use the function, add the bumpoffset between the worldpos->mask->divide and the texture sample. Look in the world aligned texture fcuntion, it should have something similar, just without the bumpoffset and heightmap.

I apologize for bringing this thread back to life. Indeed i am running into the same problem at the moment.

The approach: I used a shader suggestion from Erik Ketchum (UE4 Answerhub) for an advanced Ice Material.
https://answers.unrealengine.com/questions/168068/can-this-effect-be-achieved-in-ue4.html
It works wonderful! I even managed to enhance the material that the normal maps are going across multiple objects (ground tiles > walls > slopes, etc)

The problem: I want to use the same world-tileable look on the icey cracks and ice depth clouds, under the surface (the effect works through the bump-offset)
Well…as the OP, i am quite new to certain advanced materials, functions etc. I tried to use the solution/idea that was shown in this thread.

This is how Erik’s bump-offset solution looks like:

Ice Depth Clouds:

Ice cracks: (Don’t wonder, i already tried something on the lower nodes but that wasnt working. In original, it looks like the first node structure)

4dfcfd927d95ef13850e0421ae3ae31655afb187.jpeg

Call me stupid, i don’t get it at all.