Build Crash

I’m a beginner trying to add and mess around in the fps template project. Whenever I try to ‘Build’ the project, the Unreal program promptly crashes. I suspect it has something to do with lighting, but I’m not sure.

I don’t get a list of errors or anything, just a dialog box saying, ‘Unreal Engine has stopped working’.

When this problem first occurred, I tried giving Unreal Engine administrator permissions, and everything worked fine. Now the problem has returned, and I don’t know what to do.

The problem persists on versions 4.10 and 4.11. I’d appreciate any help.

Hi ,

• Does this occur in a clean, blank project with no additional content or is it limited to one project?
  • What steps can I take to reproduce this on my end?
  • Can you post your crash callstack? At what point in the build process does it crash?

Thanks for the reply.

Yeah, this occurs on both template levels and blank projects.
I suspect it relates to exporting lighting. The program can crash when rendering the lighting instantaneously or as high as 44% completion. No error report, just an abrupt crash.

I’m not sure how to get the crash callstack. I’ve checked several ‘CrashReportClient’ folders and they’re all empty.
[1]:

The crash callstack should appear after the editor has crashed. Do you not get a window to report the error to Epic?

Not that I’m aware of, no. All I get is the dialog box that you see in the above screenshot. If I’ve disabled it somehow, I don’t see a means of enabling it via the Editor’s Preferences.

Unfortunately this happens with some errors. If you could try one more test it should help immensely in determining what is occurring. In a blank project, create a new, empty level. Once you do so. Add a single point light and a cube within the light’s radius. After doing so, press build. Do you see the crash occur? If so, can you post the crash logs for this specific crash here?

Yeah. it crashed. I get a Map Check error ‘Maps need lighting rebuilt’.