Bounce cards = tons of artifacts

I’m new to baked lighting so I might be missing something.
My UVs are properly laid out with enough padding, lightmap sizes are 128 and 256.
Only when I use bounce cards I get seams and lots of noise/spots on the walls.
I do use a lightmass importance volume.
Anything I should check?

Lightmap resolution isn’t going to help, you’d need to increase the lightmass quality (increase the number of samples)

Currently using 100 bounces, Smoothness of 0.6 and level scale of 0.5.

Number of bounces won’t help, and lowering the smoothness will increase the amount of noise, you have to increase the lightmass quality to actually increase the amount of samples.

Okay.

Level scale: 0.25
Bounces: 100
Indirect quality: 5
Smoothness: 0.6

Floor has 512 lightmap with 4 pixels padding. Is there no way to avoid the seams there?

https://image.ibb.co/cewFTk/4.jpg

Can’t avoid seams on modular meshes like that, make one object for the floor, each object gets processed on a separate thread and so things like lightmass smoothing will only take that object into account which creates slight lighting variations. Also, if you make surfaces one object it reduces the amount of draw calls and the amount of polygons it has to process.

On a side note, lightmap unwrap for square pieces like that should occupy whole UV space with no padding. Lightmap padding for each object is added automatically. It is the padding between UV islands that belong to a single object you should be adding.

But then I’d need a gigantic lightmap to have acceptable shadow quality. :\

Really? my lightmap currently look like something like this image from this article: http://www.worldofleveldesign.com/ca…-and-seams.php

http://www.worldofleveldesign.com/categories/udk/images/011-lightmap-uvs-14.jpg

It dates back to UDK.