Blueprint - EQS and Gameplay Tags - I need help!

Hello all,

I’ve encountered a problem with EQS that I can’t solve myself and have found no other examples of it on the internet (with one exception but its outdated, I think).

Essentially I want two teams of AI characters to move, attack, flank etc using Blackboard, and EQS seems really good for that. I have set up some basic gameplay tags, for simple things (alive or dead etc) and teams, friendly (to the player) and hostile (to the player). Disclaimer I am still quite new to the AI side of things. To test, when they got within range of the player the would move towards them. Along the way an EQS test would run to see if other AI (of the opposite team) were closer (to attack first).

The crux of the problem is that when using EQS to detect actors in proximity, the gameplay tags simply don’t work for me. Looking at the generator in the debug view it marks the test as SKIP (see below) rather than give it a score or filter it. If gameplay tags are the only test it passes everything, within the class specified. So the test returns is neither true or false, based on purely on the gameplay tags and any actor in the class randomly wins by default.

A change I could make would be to split the AI into two classes based on the teams and search purely for that, but I need to include the player within the test as well, so they can be attacked too. Also I would like to avoid doing that at this point.

CurrentTags
Tag setup

Ideal test, Any or All appears to make no difference. Distance test works fine.

SkipResult
With only the gameplay tags test enabled this is a typical result.

TagPrint
Getting each character to print their tags, which are not on by default.

BothTests
This is both the tags and distance test seen above. Still has the SKIP result. (Have not found any info on this)

Having tried numerous things my questions are this.

1. Is there something I’m missing / am I doing it wrong?
  2. Is this a bug or unintended?