Blocky Shadows on Modular Character

I’m a bit new to lighting and I’m trying to figure out a shadow issue on a modular character I am building. Here is the torso with material applied, as I zoom in closer to the shadows under the arm area they get blocky with clear lines separating the shadow across the mesh:

This was placed in a new blank project with the default lighting. I’m not sure whether I should be looking at my material settings or the lighting/shadow settings. Any leads here would be much appreciated!

It could be you don’t have smoothing applied to your mesh when you exported to UE4.

That was my first thought as well. I double-checked and re-exported from Blender trying both the smoothing (face) and smoothing (edge) settings. I still get this result, unfortunately.

check the import settings for unreal as well, make sure you are importing the models normals and tangents.

if you have a normal map applied, double check how you baked that (i.e. you may have baked the hard normals into the normal map)

Okay I tried re-importing, I did have “compute normals” checked before but I tried importing the normals and tangents this time and appear to be getting the same result:

I am setting up my normals using a master material and then adding the normal map to the instance. I noticed I see the same shadow issue whether I add my own normalmap or use the default set up here:

For reference I baked the normalmap in Blender baking from high-res (multi-res modifier 3) to low res

It’s definitely your mesh settings.

Go into the lighting section of the skeletal mesh and mess around with the checkboxes until you get acceptable results.

Keep in mind this is also in relation to the light source type in use, so the persona window shows you static.
The game/pie may be dynamic requiring different settings altogether.

Could also be contact shadows or a similar setting that’s screenspace based. Hard to tell from Screencaps.