Blender / Unreal ugly shadow

Hi,

I’m currently trying to learn the basic concept of light in unreal. To do this, I made a little example with spartial rounded boxes (modeled with blender) but when I build light, the result have some ugly shadows.

I have tried to fix this problem by :

Nothing works, somebody know how to fix this please ?

Thanks

1 Like

Do you have a lightmap in UE? Take a look at UV channel 1, it should look ‘sane’…

Thanks for sharing this informative and amazing post here. I found it very interesting and enjoy reading this blog. Will wait for more posts.

@ClockworkOcean Since my first post, I have change the UV Map.
The UVMap in UE channel 1 looks like this:

And the result after calculating the light is:

I don’t think the UV Map generate is bad, but I have never done a UVMap before so I may be wrong :confused:

I will try make the round corner differently (adding quarter sphere instead of using bevel tools) to see if I see any differences.

I am wondering, does the number of island count in a UVMap ? Does this:
and this:

Will result be the same ?
I will try different things and post the results here :slight_smile:

@krhicranes20 Thanks for enjoying this post, hope it will helps you :slight_smile:

Thanks !

Okay so that is the result of my tests

First of all, I have tested 2 differents ways of unwrapping UV in blender with a basic square
Results below:

With only 1 island (2nd picture), unreal generates a stretched UVMap

Second, I tried to make the square with 1 round corner using a quarter of sphere:

(Remark: For this one I didn’t use the Smart UV Project of blender to generate the UV because of the bad UV result it gaves me)

And finally, I tried split the UV into several islands:

(Remark: For this one I didn’t use the Smart UV Project of blender to generate the UV because of the bad UV result it gave me)
The result is better but the shadows are still here :confused: