Black Desert Online Character Creation in UE4

So, as I’m sure you’re all aware, and if your not, you had better been living under a rock, a new mmo called Black Desert Online is gearing to come out soon-ish (within a year, maybe two?). One of the goodies that they have recently decided to show the community is their amazing new character creation system, which is SO amazing that I wouldn’t mind paying for it all on its own. If you haven’t seen it, check it out here: Black Desert #CB2 Character Creation - YouTube The posing ability just takes the cake, imo.

My question is: is UE4 capable of creating something comparable to this? No, I’m not attempting to do this myself, I am not a programmer and only barely understand blueprints, but I am very curious as to what the capabilities of UE4 really are if you are willing to push alot of effort into any one aspect of it. Would love an official response from the Epic team, but anyone with input is welcome. (Also, feel free to gush about Black Desert Online’s character creator. I had to take a long cold shower immediately when I first saw this!).

Yes, of course you could do something like that. But it would definitely take some coding. Since UE4 is open source, if someone wants to spend the time then it’s open for them to do whatever they want.
That would be a lot of work though, getting all of those variables, and then you’d have to make some system to collapse things into a standard asset, like convert the custom textures to a new texture map and things like that. Otherwise each character would take too much memory to run, and they’d take a long time to load.

Yes, I think you should be able to do something like this - with enough effort and time though :wink:

Lets brake this down into different parts:

• You need to be able to change parts of your character, e.g. the hair, with different skeletal meshes. UE4 can do this, no problem.
  • Same goes for different textures, no problem.