Best way around this UV problem?

G’day,

Just trying to get some models setup for the market place (will all be free), I’m a structural designer by trade and work on mainly mining projects so I have lots of steel models at 100% correct scales and 100% engineered (not that it matters but it looks nice) :slight_smile:
Anyway, so I have a few models that I’m having trouble with getting into UE4 for easy use.
For example, I have a bunch of hand rails I want to add (side mounted, top mounted, welded, etc) -

Now if I setup the UVs on each part, the model will have to come in as separate parts and not very user friendly.
If I setup the UVs on a single plane, the UE4 editor comes up with the UV overlapping error and some of the shadows can be a bit funky, but the model can be a single element and more user friendly (instead of 12 or so parts).

I’m stuck at what would be the best way to get this into UE4 for people to use easily?
The MAX file is just too big to fit in the attachments for the forum :frowning:

-Thread moved to Rendering section-

Thank you I wasn’t sure where to put it :slight_smile:

You need to process the UVs to unwrap them into 2D space. In the image you share the UVs would essentially be projecting any texture to one side of the asset (this would be the overlapping error, the back side of the rails are still behind the front)

For example, to unwrap the pipes, think of them as rolled pieces of paper: starting from a flat paper, you roll it up and are left with a seam running down it. You must define this seam on the mesh so that it can be laid out flat like the paper. After you select the edges that will be your seam you can break the UVs there and then use the flatten tool to lay it out. Each part needs to be approached in a similar way, eg that plate at the ends of the vertical pipes would be laid out in the 6 faces that make it up.