Best strategy for incremental development of a very large world and what are the limiting factors of large world development?

I am a beginner with UE. I am learning with the eventual goal of creating my own large 3D game world (~1.5x Earth’s circumference, scaled down). As creating a whole world is very ambitious, especially for a beginner, I want to start with a small section of my actual worldspace to practice (let’s say 2km x 2km or so). That said, I would like to be able to expand upon this small area to fill out the world gradually. I was hoping this post would help me and others in my position start off the right way.

What would a good strategy for doing this be to make sure my workflow is efficient and every thing lines up in the end? Just make a world that is 2km x 2km for now? If so, what is the process for adding more to the map later? Or should I make a map of the final size and just begin working on a small section of it?

Additionally, I was wondering if people would recommend making the world full scale (since it is possible, I think. Maybe like 58000 km x 29000 km) and just filling in small pieces as I go, or should I make it like 1/100th so I can represent more area of the world? What are the tradeoffs? EDIT: I have been thinking maybe a 1/500 scale would be adequate to make the spaces feel expansive but also allow me to fill out a good amount of it. Also, it seems there was some ambiguity. I will likely be building a flat map because it is easier, not a sphere. The flat map is just supposed to represent a whole planet.

The rest of this post is just some things I have learned and am hoping to get confirmed.

I will be utilizing the new Large World Coordinate functionality, which uses double-precision floats (64-bits) to represent the coordinates.