Best import settings for BIG MEDIUM SMALL - Post Apocalypse Collection? (Or any nonstandard skeleton)

Hey guys,

Has anyone else had issues with importing the content from the B/M/S PA Collection into UE5? To clarify, I am very new to rigging and armature. I am trying to set up a control rig for D4_Mirbek, but the imported armature is completely off-scale and facing the wrong axis. When I try to fix the import settings, because the bone structure is not the same as the UE Mannequin, I can’t really follow any tutorials properly because something always goes wrong when I apply a forwards or backwards solve to the skeleton.

So far, the only thing that I’ve had success with is importing the FBX into Mixamo and having it auto-rig. Unfortunately, the rig is still not quite right, especially with the hands.

Does anyone have a suggestion to be able to properly work with this skeleton, and other skeletons that are not rigged to the UE Manny?

This might just be a problem of me being ignorant, and if that’s the case I would love it if anyone could point me in the right direction for learning how to rig for UE.

Thanks so much for reading this far, and I’m happy to provide more information/context/screenshots if you want.

Hi there, hope you’re good. I’m looking at a similar scenario - did you get it working?
Thanks

Hey! Sorry for the late reply. I ended up taking a break from this problem because I figured that it had something to do with my lack of experience.

It seems like the skeletons were rigged in Blender and have different scale settings than the UE Mannequin. Conveniently, I was recently able to find a plugin on the Marketplace: Mesh Scale Fixer in Code Plugins - UE Marketplace

I have to do some more research but this seems like it has a lot of promise. I will update this forum post when I’ve had time to play around with this plugin.

Sorry again for the late reply, hope you were able to find an answer to this question in the meantime.