Begining in Unreal egnine 5 and having some trouble with "changes"

Hello! I am new to unreal and learning it’s many tools. I figured I’d start in unreal 5 as it’s pretty awesome in many ways. However learning has been a bit challenging due to some gaps in learning materials and changes from older versions.

1. Tessalation seems to have no direct replacement. I’ve seen some tutorials on some ways of replicating its affect, but they aren’t direct replacements and I can’t figure out ways to make the landscape or water have proper displacement. it all looks flat

2. The water tool looks beautifull in vidoes. showing how waves can hit land, foam, etc. However I can’t seem to find any good tutorials on how any of it actually works. I’ve probably spent days messing with it. Things like Foam aren’t activiated by default like it seems they are in UE4 (according to videos). I’ve watched lots of videos that cover the basics, but none that really give a good explanation of all the tools and how to activate them… If anyone has found some please let me know!

There are a few other topics like skeletal meshes with metahumans that have frustrated me, but I have found some videos I can watch on those later. I really want to get the “world features” down pat because I can use them in my current profession as well as in game design learning.

This topic has been moved from International to Getting Started & Setup.

When posting, please review the categories to ensure your topic is posted in the most relevant space. Hopefully, this new category will help you get an answer.

In the meantime, good luck and happy developing! :slight_smile: