Attaching static meshes to scene component causes them to disappear?

Hello! I’m somewhat new to UE4’s c++ usage and having a little bit of difficulty. I am attempting to make an actor that will appear and disappear based on a timer. I was able to get my original draft of the actor working just fine, when there was only one component involved. However, it was difficult to tell where objects would appear when the timer expired, so I decided to add a ‘hint’ mesh that I would texture such that it would appear as a transparent guide of sorts.

However, when attaching my ‘hint’ mesh to my root mesh, I have run into a problem: when dragging my blueprint that derives from this class into the world, the attached hint mesh appears at the level’s origin (0, 0, 0), while the root mesh appears wherever the blueprint was placed. From that point, it seems to move in sync with the root mesh, always maintaining the same offset.

After some google searching, I managed to find a similar question that suggested it might be a bug caused by attaching static meshes to static meshes. As a workaround, I decided to implement a scene component as the root and attach both to that. Now, however, the meshes are not even being rendered(!) when placed in the world. The actor is treated as a point in space with no physical representation. What am I doing wrong, here? Am I missing something really obvious?

.h

// The static mesh to use for the switchable object.
UPROPERTY(EditDefaultsOnly, BlueprintReadOnly, Category = Mesh)
UStaticMesh* MeshAsset;

// The material to use for the switchable object. The material should
// include a parameter called 'ShowAmount'.
	UMaterial* MaterialAsset;

// The material (ideally translucent) to use for the hint that this
// object will appear.
	UMaterial* HintMaterialAsset;

// The object's scene component. The root component.
USceneComponent* SceneComponent;

// The object's mesh. Used for collision.
UStaticMeshComponent* MeshComponent;