Ask Epic Anything: Programming & Scripting | May 24th, 2023 at 12:30PM EST

This AMA is all about Programming and Scripting in UEFN!

Submit your questions directly to expert members on our team – ask about feature insights, overarching development guidance, career advice, industry questions, and of course, what you’re wondering specifically about our guests!

Make sure to check out the awesome backgrounds and expertise of our special Epic developer guests featured below. :point_down:

Do you have a question for us? Ask away by replying to this post!

The team will join us on 2023-05-24T09:30:00Z to answer questions. See you there!

MEET THE TEAM

Screenshot 2023-05-17 at 10.42.33 AM

Screenshot 2023-05-17 at 10.49.09 AM

Screenshot 2023-05-17 at 10.50.13 AM

Rodney Houle Senior Technical Designer. I have 23 years of game design experience, with six of those being a technical designer focused on game scripting and programming. I shipped my first game using Unreal Engine in 2008 and have been using it ever since. When I’m not in front of a screen, I’m enjoying the beautiful outdoors of central Oregon golfing, hiking, backpacking, stand up paddle boarding, and skiing.

Conan Reis Principal Engineer / Mad Computer Scientist with 30 years in all areas of AAA game development. CEO/founder of Agog Labs, where I created SkookumScript which was acquired by Epic Games in 2018. Since then I’ve worked on Verse (the programming language of UEFN) - and created and designed much of its control flow especially its concurrency model - sync, race, rush, branch, spawn, etc.

Ray Benefield Creative Tools Designer. I have experience as a Software Engineer and a UGC Creator. I was recruited by Epic directly from the Fortnite Creative community as I’ve been working in the tool since day 1. I specialize in game design and game logic. I stubbornly lean towards breaking the mold in terms of ideas and innovation. When I’m not working, I’m probably still working on some side project.