AR Coffee Caravan Project - Need help with animating of features or meshs (very lost)

Hi all, long time reader, first time poster

Im currently completing a unit at uni which is a replacement for a graphics unit (im an engineering student so app and unreal engine is way out of my scope), and for my final i must make a deployable AR app, with the idea revolving around a covid safe coffee caravan, i have produced my models in solid works and have gotten the app to deploy, im able to place my models within the scene when tapping on the screen of my phone.

But now i want to be able to go beyond this, my first mission is to be able to tap on the rear door of the van(after already placing the van in ar), having tapped the door i wish for it to open allowing the user to walk in (this is to be all 1:1 scale like a pre product demo or template).

I understand that to do this i must make up a “hit” blueprint casting on the door, but this is where my knowledge runs out, ive tried a few ideas that I thought were logical but they have all failed. Ive also scoured the forum for hopes of finding someone doing something similar in ar but to no demise. If anyone has any idea or could point in the right direction it would be much appreciated. Im enjoying this while unreal experience and wish to continue learning.

Cheers all

Hi

I personally understand your struggles, I started off the same way you did years ago.

I create a simple blueprint graph to visualize an example on how to tackle the raycasting from touchscreen to an actor, and then have that actor call a function.
( node graph: TouchScreenANimation posted by anonymous | blueprintUE | PasteBin For Unreal Engine 4 )

So what I do here:

• I get an Input Event, which returns me a location (in the form of a Vector3, but it is in fact a Vector2 representing the screen position of your touch input).
  • I then Deproject that location to world, so I know where the touch happened in the Worldspace of my scene.