Alternatives to VS Express?

Hi,

I’m basically a hobby programmer and unfortunately can’t afford a full Version of Visual Studio. Hoever, VS Express is a real pain to work it, since it so sooooooo slow and unconfortable to work with. I wonder if there are any alternatives that are free or at least affordable to it?

Haven’t used VS Express, but I can tell you from using the full version, that it’s also slow and a pain to work with.

To answer your question; no, there are no alternatives to VS for UE4 and there likely won’t ever be.

What are you computer’s specs?

Visual Studio is the industry leading IDE. If it’s slow, it’s probably because of your computer. It’s quit slow on my computer too, but on high end computers at my university it’s extremely quick.

I would definitely also recommend going with VS for UE. The integration is great and Epic has solved a lot of hassles for you already.

A thought: VS offers a lot of “comfort” functions that can be taxing on performance. I’d rather recommend doing a bit of performance tweaking before going for an unsupported approach. Most game studios do use VS, so an added benefit of using it is you can get help from the community (and Epic).

Cheers,
Michael

I didn’t see any difference in performance between Express and Professional. One of the main benefits of Professional is that you can install plugins that help you coding in one way or an other. Like Visual Assist for refactoring and syntax coloring. If you’re enrolled as a student you probably can get the Professional version via DreamSpark.

Currently, JetBrains is working on a new C++ IDE. It still in development, but knowing their previous work on their Java or Objc IDEs, I think it’s safe to say that it will be good. It will probably be able to open visual studio projects as well. I’m not sure what else would be needed to be able to work with UE.

Like what? The non-existent refactoring functions or the painfully slow and barely working syntax highlighting?