AI & Player Distance Detection Problem

Hello. I’m trying to figure out how to detect the distance between my AI and player in the blackboard tree. I want to put a “Is Far Enough?” node down to detect if the AI is too far from the player and choose an alternative path near the player. I’ve been stuck on this for almost a week. Some help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi, you could make a custom decorator [HR][/HR]
I don’t know how much understanding you have about behavior trees and AI, therefore two ways:

(1) fast and easy to setup, but I would not use it in the long run

(2) will take a bit longer and would need a bit more understanding to setup, but you can set the target actor as variable, so that’s how I would do it

Let me know if you need more help :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello.
Just for extra context, I’m not a master at behavior trees and AIs. I’m still learning but I know the general basics and somewhat difficult things in behavior trees. I already have my AI chasing the player, roaming, looking for the player, and other random stuff that’s needed. It’s just the distance checking that’s bugging me.

I tried to follow what you suggested but I kind of got lost. Either that or I did something wrong. I probably need more explanation and/or context.

The code from the first image works as is, you can just copy it and it should work. It returns true, if the distance between the AI and the player is greater than the input distance and false otherwise. Therefore the code you execute in the Behavior Tree (BT) after this decorator node will only execute if the distance between the AI and the player is greater than the distance input to this decorator.

To create a new decorator you would first click “New Decorator” inside the BT and then inside this newly created decorator you would either override the “PerformConditionCheck” or like in the two images above the “PerformConditionCheckAI” function.
[HR][/HR]