Advice on Replicating

Hello all,

I am a few months into learning Unreal Engine, but I am brand new to the networking and replication aspect of the engine. I am just curious on your thoughts for the best method to solve the following problem:

If for example, I had a game which was turn based and involved a game board (This would be something like simulating a board game), where is the best spot to store the board data and how would I go about utilizing replication to ensure each client is able to know where game pieces are on the board such that the client can draw them to the screen.

The current idea I am struggling to work through is using a game board object containing an array representing the possible squares of the board (Imagine a checkers game), however I am completely unsure of where this object should be stored and how it should be replicated. I originally had it stored in the gamemode object, but quickly realized it won’t replicate to clients like this. Then, I tried to move it to a game instance class, but I am still struggling to get the game board object to replicate properly.

Am I using the right idea or is there a better place to store the game board? The game board was also based on a UObject, so I am not sure if this could be interfering with its ability to replicate. Is this something which is better suited to being based on an Actor object?

Any guidance and advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks!

This tutorial will probably help you out -
https://youtu.be/TbaOyvWfJE0
https://youtu.be/ZsDRDAdtA9w