Adularescence and Chatoyancy

Good morning everyone.
I’m new to the forum and I’m a TechArt student.
As my diploma work I was thinking of developing a photorealistic material for gems and crystals and I am having great difficulty with the Chatoyancy effect for the “Tiger’s eye” and “Star Sapphire/Ruby” stones and the Adularescence effect for the “Labradorite” and “Moonstone/Adularia”.
Is anyone aware of any systems for obtaining this effect exclusively with one material? I have found half-systems but they all include the use of Blueprints or with unsatisfactory results.
I’ve searched various forums and sites but haven’t found anything relevant.
If you had anything to recommend to me, articles, sites, guides, manuals, … I would be immensely grateful.
I would like to be able to complete this course with a project with great visual impact and with a good evaluation.
Thank you very much for the attention.
Davide Medici.

Hello,

You may be able to use a TEXTURE/MATERIAL MASK to approximate the effect.

In this video, such a mask is used to add depth lines in a solid wood texture. In your case, you’d make the lines a shade of white, of course.

You can also take a look at items in the MARKETPLACE and if you see any packs that have stones that match your aesthetic, you can buy the pack and study the material functions:

HI! Thanks for the video and the advice.
I keep the video because it can be very useful, but by looking at it quickly I have already seen some possible problems for my project.
The marketplace wasn’t much help either, but maybe I just used the wrong search terms.
To obtain the desired effect I should apply materials such as subsurface reflective and move the mask based on the position of the camera that is framing the object (a bit like the black “pupil” of praying mantises that always stares at the viewer, regardless of the position).
I tried following tutorials but couldn’t find anything “perfect”.