Adding Texture to a Directional Light?

Hello

I have a question pertaining to the SkyAtmosphere actor / component in Unreal. As you can see. I have a blank scene with a SkyAtmosphere and a directional light (since it is required for use with SkyAtmosphere) that I have renamed “Sun.”

I have included a rough mockup of the type of thing I’m trying to achieve. Would anyone be so kind as to to point me in the right direction as to how I would accomplish adding a texture like this to the directional light, aka the Sun.

Thank you for any insight … I am a big newb.

What effect would adding a texture have on the light, if you could do it? What are trying to achieve?

Ah… I don’t think that’s part of the directional light capabilities. Sure you can make it look like a disc, but there’s no configuration of the disc to make it look like a planet ( unless I totally missed a meeting ).

What you need to do is actually make a planet or star, as an actor, and put it in the area where the directional light seems to be coming from.

The directional light itself can be at 0,0,0. It makes no different where you put it.

Well since the directional light is necessary to act as the sun for the skyatmosphere component, I wish to customize the look of said light for artistic purposes, to make it appear like a giant planet / star on the horizon. The image I attached is just an overlay in photoshop to show what I’m trying to achieve.

There’s 2 images actually, one w/ the photoshop manipulation and one without it.

1 Like

Hmm … so you’re saying the only way to accomplish this is to track the “rotation” of the directional light and place an actor that follows and overlaps it since the skyatmosphere is using the rotation to visually represent the light’s position in the sky?

You could do that. Not too difficult. One blueprint containing a mesh. Because you’d want it to rotate as well ( on it’s own axis ), which the directional light doesn’t.