Actor replication through blueprint not working when attaching actor to player

Hey all,

I’m new to unreal engine and I’ve gone through several of the tutorials on constructing game logic through blueprints and I’m having a problem with replication of an object over the network. This is for a capture the flag modification on the shooter sampler.

What I’m doing is having the flag object spawned via the level blueprint(as per this tutorial Content Examples Sample Project for Unreal Engine | Unreal Engine 5.2 Documentation) and then when a player character of the correct team collides with the flag item, I use the attach to actor function to attach the player to the actor. This part works fine, from the perspective of the actor picking up the flag, the problem I’m having is that I’m not seeing the flag moving on several of the other client players(I’m testing through the unreal editor). I’ve tried numorous combinations of the replication options through the blueprint but I’ve yet to see the flag consistently through all players. I assume the editor window for the UE4 is actually the server side of the item. I’m wondering exactly what settings I need to have such that the flag position will replicate to all players.

Any help is appreciated,

In multiplayer situations all spawning and destroying must be done on the server if you want all the clients to be able to see it. So, you must use an event set to ‘run at server’. And the actor that you are using for your flag must be set to replicate. Your problem is that the client knows it has picked up the flag but the server has not passed that info on to anyone else.

sometimes that don’t work for me,

make a custom event “run on client” in gamemode with necessary pins u need such as “actors” variables or whatever and an attach to node.