Action OnClick not working (UE4-27)

Hello !

I’m brand new to UE and in general on game developping.

I started yesterday with a guide where i learned all kind of things and wanted to start making a prototype. ( by the way, sorry for my english, i’m french )

The problem i have right now, is that i want to make so my character can interect with OnClick events with Left click, so i added Interaction on the Action mapping, using the Left Mous Button (

)

but then, nothing happen even if i set my Onlick action like that on the blueprint i created for the DoorBell i wanted to make :

I also wanted to make so when i’m overing the door bell, the cursor switch to a hand but it doesn’t show anything.

To be clear, i followed a tutorial on getting a clean setup for developping, so i created my project with Third Person one from EG, and transformed it to a FPS by moving the camera, adding head movement etc ! So, my question is, can i actually stick a cursor in the middle of the screen, hidden but active, that i can replace it with just a black dot, and make it switch to another cursor when overing things, and be able to onclick event with that.

Sorry again, not really used to speak developping + in english. Don’t hesitate to tell me if i’m not clear enough

You could but it would be awkward, hacky and not really necessary.

There are many methods to invoke a cursor → actor interaction. If you wish to you use the method you already have, it’s a matter of enabling the player controller to process those clicks:

Similarity, there is also interaction from the mouse over:

If you have yet to make your own controller, you can do this in the player blueprint instead:

Do note that the thing you’re attempting to click on must block Visiblity traces. If I wanted this cube to receive a click, I’d need to ensure that we at least block that one thing:

This is generally fine by default, though.