Accurately Texturing Tiles

Hello all. I’m making a copy of my bathroom in UE4. I have a basic model of the bathroom in UE4 with placeholder materials on the walls, floor and some of the assets. The problem is that I’m new to texturing and I’d like to ask for some advice with how to do certain objects. To start with, my wall tiles.
Below, you can see a picture of some of the problems I am facing. Apologies in advance for any misunderstandings, as I am very tired as I type this and may forget some details.

1. The tiles are uniform all the way to just before they reach the ceiling, and then they adopt a slightly different pattern. This prevents me from simply using one single tile texture and setting it’s coordinates in the editor so it repeats. What is the best way to reproduce this effect while maintaining quality?
  2. The tiles appear completely flat on the surface, but reflections appear wavy and distorted. How can I replicate this?
  3. Grouting is present at the top and bottom of the wall. Aside from -perfectly- aligning the texture on the wall, I’m not sure how to get this to appear.

Thanks in advance for any help.

You need to learn how to “uv map” in a 3D application and in UE4 how to use displacement maps and how to make materials. YouTube is your friend.

I already know how to do all these :slight_smile:

Not sure what you are asking. Just use regular tiling textures, and then model in a separate strip for the different pattern trim part. No need to over complicate your whole shader to support some trim, but you could use a mask I suppose. You would simply tile the small tiles more and make sure you paint the mask to line up with the desired tiling pattern.

“Just use regular tiling textures, and then model in a separate strip for the different pattern trim part.”
How to do this?

You said you understood modelling and UV mapping.