About Learning Agents

Hello everyone.
I am a student at a Japanese university and I am doing research using LearningAgents.
Thank you for developing this wonderful plugin.
I have some questions in using LearningAgents and I would like to ask for your help.

1. Could you please elaborate on the difference between the number of steps, iterations and episodes in Learning Agents?
  2. In the tutorial, it was mentioned that “SAC” and “Q Learning” are supported, but how can I change it from PPO?

I apologize for the trouble, but I would appreciate your response.
(*I am not good at English, so I used a translation.)

みなさんこんにちは。
私は日本の大学に通っている学生で、LearningAgentsを用いた研究を行っています。
この度はステキなプラグインを開発ありがとうございます。
LearningAgentsを使っていくうえでいくつか疑問点が出たのでご教授をお願いしたいです。

1. 「Learning Agents」におけるステップ数とイテレーション、エピソードの違いについて詳しく教えてください。
    2)チュートリアルでは「SAC」や「Q学習」に対応してると記載されていたのですが、PPOから変更するにはどのようにすればいいのでしょうか。
  2. 最後にお願いしたいのですが、Qiitaという日本語サイトでLearning Agentsについて軽く考察したのですが,査読をお願いしたいです。(日本語で書いてありますが…)

お手数をおかけしますが、ご回答のほどよろしくお願いいたします。
(※私は英語が苦手なので,翻訳を使用しました.)

1 Like

Hello,

An Episode is a series of states/actions from start to finish for one agent in the game environment.

Steps is the number of states/actions pairs the agent will encounter in a training episode. This is typically controlled by calling “RunTraining” during your manager’s Tick event. If you are running your manager’s Actor & game at 60 FPS, then it will be 60 steps / seconds. We suggest ticking slower generally speaking, perhaps 10 steps / second. In Learning Agents 0.1 for UE 5.3, when this threshold is hit, the episode will automatically terminate, so adjust higher if needed.

Iterations is how many repeats of the training process to run. The full training process is 1) collect data episodes to fill replay buffer and 2) sync to python process and run training on randomly sampled batches. An iteration is “filled” when either the Max Recorded Episodes Per Iteration or Max Recorded Steps Per Iteration is met.