A Message to Everyone Attempting to Make Games

WARNING: THE FOLLOWING POST IS RATHER LONG .

Hello.

Most of you know me by now, but you don’t know too much about me.

I won’t bore you with any details of my life, but I just had to share something.

When I was 11, I first got my hands on the modding tools for some Valve games.

I was eager to make maps and such so I braved the complex nature of the tools and did just that.

A few weeks later, I ended up finding something strange.
It was a game engine, UDK.

At the time I had no idea that someone like me can start creating games.

I had never really known what I had wanted to do.
Originally it was acting, being a doctor, I decided to write a book.
Unfortunately, I just didn’t like writing. It wasn’t fun.

After a few weeks of using UDK I realized that game development was my life.
I knew it’s what I need to do.

So because I am who I am, do you know what I did?
Take a guess.

I made myself fail at it.

When I had first decided to become a game developer, I had this great game idea in my head.
I still remember every single piece of it to this day.

As I started to develop it, I started to learn some tricks of the trade so to speak.
I began to understand the importance of certain aspects of game development through books and videos.

However, I did something I will never forget.
I threw the idea out.

I started again.
I convinced myself that I couldn’t make that game and I needed to start smaller.

I did that, I hated the game.
I started again.

It was because it was too big, I told myself.
So I stopped and started again.

This cycle went on for YEARS.

, one day that original idea came back to me.
The story and plot had to be tweaked a little, but I decided to make it.

Eventually, I threw it out.
I defaulted back to my original cycle.

Flashforward to earlier this year.
I had just created two games, both for jams and I hated them.
I knew, I knew that making small games was not for me.