A little lecture about the Field of View (FoV)

Hello everybody !
I look at a lot of video of WiP and whatever other users are doing with UE4.
Of course, I see lots of really impressive works and I’m often astonished by the quality of what I see here.
But I also found that there’s (often, not always) a lack of use of the FoV of cameras and it’s a pity because FoV (I will soon speak of focal length) is a powerful artistic and emotional tool.
I’m a professional photographer in my day job and now, I will try to give you some hint about this tool and how you can use it, from an artistic point of view :slight_smile:

UE4 camera VS IRL camera

UE4 camera are virtual tools and can have a very unnatural behavior.
A real life camera uses lens that are not perfect and generate some artifacts (chromatism, deformation, flare, noise (generated by the captor)…).
These artifacts are common to all camera in different proportion but our brain is very educated to these artifacts, as they are present in all the movies, TV show and photography we are seeing. [TABLE=“align: left, width: 100%”]

bulb.png

*Your eyes are an IRL camera and have these flaws too !*

We are so accustomed to these flaws that we need them to read an image.
Even if we didn’t study cinema, we have learned the cinema language (the american one, at least, for most of us…). And as the cinema maker are using these flaws and artifact to generate emotional reaction, we instinctively understand this language.

And of course, that’s why UE4 give us many way to emulate these “flaws” : Lens flare, camera dust, focus…
We often hear some assertion on the fact that video games are more and more “cinematic”…
I personally don’t agree with that (or at least, I don’t think video game should mimic the cinema, we have to invent our language) but, as a matter of fact, it will be very inefficient to ignore this already known language.