A few questions about VR doors.

I am trying to make doors in VR. Needless to say, very small numbers of tutorials “out there”. But, they all have something in common: They completely disregard physics and move on to make their own “fake” physics simulation.

That results in the door being able to move as long as we hold it. You can’t pull/push while grabbing and let go and then see the door open or close all the way. This is all the best these tutorials have to show. Is there a way to use physics with doors and cabinets in VR? If not, why? Job Simulator has doors that react to pulling/pushing and letting go, Walking Dead Saints and Sinners (made with Unreal) also.

Why can’t we grab physics objects? There is one tutorial where a physics door is opened by pushing, but not grabbing. Please help me figure this out!

I’m still a noob but I use this code on my Quest and it works fine mayby it’s of some use for you

So you want physically accurate doors that react to pulling and pushing? Is that right?

You should be using PhysicsConstraint. They allow for all kinds of movement. You just have to limit the movement to some axis. There is an introduction tutorial for it (link).

I tried using physics, but you can only push to open the door this way, not grab and pull. VR seems to be officially avoiding physics when objects are grabbed, this is what I’m investigating.