A few questions about "delta seconds"

Hello all,

I am very new to UE, and am having a real issue understanding aspects of delta seconds. After reading several explanations for delta time I still have a few questions. Maybe I need the ELI5 version.

1. Am I correct in that delta time is the time in between ticks, and a tick is equal to fps?

2. I saw a tutorial that said if you multiply the value of whatever I want “speed” to be by delta seconds, the resulting distance traveled the same even when fps is higher or lower. How is this?

3. Is there a difference between getting delta seconds from the “delta seconds” pin on the Event Tick node versus the Get World Delta Seconds node? When should I use one over the other?

Thank you!

I never used worls delta seconds, i also don’t have idea what it is.
Delta seconds from tick are very important for everything that needs to be updated as fast as possible, for example object location in multiplayer. Lets say you playing on 60 FPS but your friend 30 FPS. In your script, you write code that have to move object from A to B, like falling rock. Where to draw rock each tick? you cant set rock location -10 cm each tick, because someone who have 30 FPS, 40, or 150 FPS will have different location… But, delta time - if you playing at 1 FPS, your delta time is 1, 50 FPS = 0,02. 100 FPS = 0,01. So if you multiply everything with delta time, you will get right values for something what need to be updated in tick.

5 Likes