500 zombies on the screen - How to improve frame rate?

Here’s a link to a video demonstration:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJQlEOevvDo&feature=youtu.be

Besides reducing poly count on the mesh itself, I was just curious if there is a way to improve performance with this many skeletal actors on the screen at once? It sure would be cool.

A LOD level system (which you specified regarding poly count).
Reducing lightmap resolution for each level of LOD, max being the closest.

Simple collision rather than complex (I don’t know howyou’re handling this).

And there should be ways to optimize the way zombies react to player but alas, I have no experience in this area. As you can imagine, a large amount of zombies noticing you at the same time would probably be catastrophic for frames but with your current issue regarding the grouping of them, i’d say you should tackle that first :stuck_out_tongue:

I think there is hard limit to 50 AI instances running at once. So you have only 50 zombies running with AI. I found that yesterday, also making zombie game, 51st spawned AI is never moving.

It looks like to me you need to increase the radius of your spawn box area.

You want your zombies to drop down to the ground from the air, not spawn on the ground.

Thanks for the tips. I actually kind of like how they all bunched up in groups… and was hoping there was a simple way to improve the performance so this many zombies could be a gameplay feature.