2D Game Creation: Unity or Unreal Engine 4?

Hi all, I was wondering what engine I should use to make my first 2d game? I have some experience in both C++ and C#, however I am rather new to game development in general. I was hoping to get an idea of which of these two I should begin development with? What are the ups and downs of each (in 2d)?

If it helps, the game I’m making is a 2d platformer in the style of Cavestory (rpg aspects as well)

I’d love to get some insight too. My current target are mobile games (android/ios) and i’m not very experienced in gamedev too. Currently thinking about a 2d platformer mobile game and I wonder if UE4 is the best choice as I can afford only 1 engine for now.

I havent used unity for 2d games, but take a look at this tutorial series to see how easy it is to develop a 2d game with the UE4: ?v=3GtGvNoL5UI&list=PLZlv_N0_O1gauJh60307mE_67jqK42twB :smiley: I had no experience with 2d development, but in a very short time I was able to create my own small 2d games

When I first come to U4, The first thing I did is compare the 2D aspect of Unity3D to U4.
U4 gives you much more resources as engine than Unity3D can give you, but speaking of 2D resource, in my humble opnion: Unity3D last update made 2D games more easy to develop. I can be wrong about U4 on 2D, so correct me if i’m wrong (those who have experience in both Engines, because I have in Unity).

I might say that knownledge of the tool/language is the best you will have. (Own experience with c#).

Well, what about blueprints? Is it possible to create a fully-fledged 2d game? I.E Rayman Legends, Super Meat Boy, etc (I’m mainly looking into platformers). I really don’t want to have to re-write anything in the engine code, that’s too tedious…

Simple answer: Yes.

Long answer: Of course! Let me know what you’re planning to create and I’ll point you in the right direction for learning what’s needed to get your game started!