Zelda-like kind of inventory gestion.

Hello guys.

I’m a complete beginner, so I looked a lot of tutorial around youtube or the unreal website.

There’s really a lot of things to learn… However, the topics are often the same (and it’s normal you might say.)
I go then realize that the type of game I’m interested in is probably a little apart. The FPS gender is over-represented and, after all… We’re on Unreal engine ! So it’s normal.

That’s why I am asking again for your help.

I found many topics dealing with inventory management, creation of weapons, ect …
But nothing for a game that look alike pickups of zelda or Binding of Isaac kind of games.

Let me explain.

It’s an inventory, but not really.
I have an idea that it was designed as follows:

Basically you have bombs, keys ect … We will say Item X and Item Y.

Well, I assume that : I** have to tell to the blueprint :

MyCharacter : I have Item X and Item Y.
BP : Ok. How many ?
MyCharacter : 0.
BP : So you have, but you can’t use it.

And, so, when I pick up one, MyCharacter can use it. (Once.) And you understand the logic. You pick up two, you can use it two time, ect…**

For weapons, it’s something else.

In Binding of Isaac for example, we go on a weapon and “crush” the previous or adds effects to the ones you already have. We are far from the rotation that can be seen in an FPS, it retains its weapons and you can change it. There, you do really only one, so there is no management. And no ammunition or reloading.

So I have a weapon in the blueprint of my character. The standard shot.
I wonder if it is conceivable to create separate blueprints, which if I go over my character, will replace the one my character already have. (For example, he has the weapon 1. He walks on a weapon 2. So the weapon 2 becomes his weapon and 1 disappears.)

I wonder if my reasoning is correct or if I need to see it in a different way?