ZBrush for hard surface modeling

Hello!

I’m just getting started with 3D modeling and I’m looking for the right tool to start learning.
So far I really like Modo, but ZBrush just introduced really nice hard surface modeling tools (e.g. ZModeler) with its latest update (4R7). I know the whole approach in ZBrush is different, since it’s mostly for sculpting and high poly modeling, but many use it to add further details to their basic meshes after they finished it in Max or Modo.

So my question is: as hard surface modeling can now be done directly in ZBrush, can I just skip learning traditional modeling software (such as Modo) and do all of my modeling directly in ZBrush?

Is anybody here doing this already? What is your experience?

Honestly, even with the new tools I wouldn’t use Zbrush for hard surface modeling–other programs are still better for that, especially if you’re trying to match something exactly.

If you aren’t concerned about accuracy or poly count then it’s fine, and if you’re a character artist then you really should learn how to do it there. But if you’re a hard-surface modeler, then stick to your main 3D app.

Makker,

you can do all your hard surface modeling in Zbrush. Hard surface modeling is software agnostic , what you do/learn in Zbrush can be applied to a more general purpose 3D like Max/Modo.