Would love some advice about making a Moo2 Clone

So, I’ve decided that since I have a couple ideas for games, and that UE4 is installed and free on my computer… I’d like to ask for some advice.

I’m wanting to create something akin to Master of Orion 2. I probably need to use some C++ or Unrealscript probly, but here goes.

How would i create the menus and GUI like the one seen in Master of Orion 2? I’m pretty new to the editor but know my way around basic level tools and have a bunch of pictures I’ve made for graphics and junk.

By this I mean, what tools? I’m by all means willing to learn any and all, I just would like a place to get started. Feel free to also PM me if you wish to.

In advance, I’m really sorry if this is in the wrong place, or if someone’s somehow asked this.

Also for those who don’t know Master of Orion 2, it’s basically the pioneering game for those like Galactic Civilizations, Sins of a Solar Empire, and mostly Endless Space. Basically a strategy game set on a galactic scale similar to Civ, only you can design your ships however you like with some restrictions ofcourse.

I’ve wanted to do something like this for a mad-huge amount of time, but UE3 was… a tad confusing and didn’t have as many easily-accessible tutorials that UE4 does. So any and all help will result in me loving you figuratively :smiley:

Ofcourse there’s the whole “okay, what do i sue to make everything else?” But I assume I can make probably 80% of the game with Blueprints, right?
Is there actually somewhere that defines what every blueprint type does? :slight_smile:

The very extent of my knowledge is BSP brushes and placing actors is a 3D environment using the UT editor.

Literally everything aesthetic is easier than getting a 4x system itself designed. Enjoy long hours of math.