Worried about community modding/level creation

Hi all

Really excited about UE4 but I have one major worry.

If I release a UE4 game will the people who buy it be able to create their own maps and/or mods for it WITHOUT paying for a UE4 subscription?

Say the game costs $10, I don’t think hardly any modders would want to pay (at least) $20 to make custom maps or mods for the game.

I can’t believe Epic would heavily reduce (if not virtually eliminate) community custom content for a whole generation of games (I’m expecting UE4 to utterly dominate the market) when they used to even package the level designer with their games.

I’m really hoping there will be some kind of cut down version (maybe level editor only) that can be packaged with UE4 games. Community content is key to the longevity of so many games.

I’m no expert on this, but it was kind of my impression that since the full source for both the engine binaries and editor are available, then that opens up the possibility of recompiling and packaging the editor alongside a given game.
There may be some legal clause on Epic’s part regarding this kind of thing, I’m honestly not sure, but from a technical standpoint it would be absolutely possible.

I can give you a game that recently did this very thing. Ravaged. They sold their game via steam. Its been about a year maybe since release or less. Then just a week or so ago they released modding tools. Ravaged was created with UE3 engine.

[=Scudmire;1598]
Hi all

Really excited about UE4 but I have one major worry.

If I release a UE4 game will the people who buy it be able to create their own maps and/or mods for it WITHOUT paying for a UE4 subscription?

Say the game costs $10, I don’t think hardly any modders would want to pay (at least) $20 to make custom maps or mods for the game.