World Machine to UE4 using World Composition

First off, I am totally new at this, so I apologize if I am missing something obvious.

I am following the wiki for importing world machine into UE4 at this link: A new, community-hosted Unreal Engine Wiki - Announcements - Epic Developer Community Forums

I am new to both applications, which is obviously an issue for me :slight_smile: but I am able to get down to the part where we actually start importing into UE4.

In step 3 of ‘Terrain Material Setup in UE4’ it wants me to import the weightmaps I exported from World Machine. They had me export them as raw, but UE4 won’t import that type and I can’t just open them in gimp to rename them it seems.

Can someone get me moving down the right path again? I am using the latest version of both UE4 and World Machine (pro), and I am happy to fill in any detail that I can.

Thanks in advance,

Okay, you need to build the Material as instructed in the “Terrain Material Setup in UE4” step. The important part is to have all your weightmap layers linked in your material. You don’t need any images attached, you can work on that later, you just need the weight layers properly named (Rock Layer, Grass Layer, and so on) and all linked into one of the channels, usually the base color.

Then, when you get to the “Tiled Landscape Import” step, look at this image:

After selecting the material you made, a list of file fields will appear. (Listed as Low, Mid and High in the image.) This is where you choose the raw files you created. So for your Grass Layer, you would choose the RAW weightmap for the grass. Same with dirt, rock or whatever you export.

Hope this gets you on the right path!

Thank you much, I couldn’t figure out how to get to that menu, but it looks like my issue was more basic. I needed to turn on world composition and open that editor etc down the line.

I think I am good now, thanks for the help!

Ok, one more, same article if someone has time.